Director General Ellen Hambro of the Norwegian Environment Agency with IPCC chairman Dr. Hoesung Lee. Photo: Norwegian Environment Agency.

Norway raises voluntary IPCC contribution

The Norwegian Government has decided to increase the voluntary contribution to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Trust Fund in 2017 and 2018.

— The IPCC does not carry out its own original research, but review, assess and summarize the status of climate science. Their reports are the most important scientific basis for the work done under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), and it is important that they have sufficient funding, said Ellen Hambro, Director General of the Norwegian Environment Agency.

Approximately 1.5 million CHF in 2017 – 2018

Over the last few years, the economic situation for the IPCC has become challenging. Some countries have indicated a substantial reduction in their contribution. Several other countries now seek to increase their voluntary funding.

In this situation, the Norwegian Environment Agency, which is the National IPCC Focal Point, has granted a voluntary contribution to the IPCC Trust Fund of approximately 600 000 CHF in 2017. In addition, the Norwegian Government has in the National budget for 2018 proposed an anticipated range of 850 000-900 000 CHF allocated to the IPCC Trust Fund for 2018.

Important for the IPCC

The IPCC Chair, Dr. Hoesung Lee from Korea, was in Oslo during the First Lead Author Meeting for the Special Report on Climate Change and Land in October 2017.

— We are very grateful for Norway's increased contribution to the Trust Fund. The contribution is important in enabling the IPCC to continue providing decision-makers worldwide with comprehensive and relevant assessments of climate science, said Dr. Hoesung Lee, Chair of the IPCC.

In October 2018, the IPCC will launch a special report on 1.5 degree global warming. This report will be a key scientific document for the further negotiations under the UNFCCC and the follow-up of the Paris Agreement.